2016 XXL Freshman Class – My Takes

At 22 years of age, I feel I’ve completely lost touch with what’s hip and what’s hot. I’m unaware of the scuttlebutt and I can’t keep up with the new. Here’s some brief notes on the new class of rookies in the rap game.
Video 1 – in order, includes freestyles from Desiigner, Anderson .Paak (no typos with this name), and Lil Dicky.

Desiigner

 

This is Desiigner

This is Desiigner

He melodically raps a barely intelligible chorus. I think he says the same lines five consecutive times before slowly backing off. By his fifth go-round I’m begging for death’s sweet embrace. Lil Dicky looks apathetic and Anderson .Paak starts to cheese pretty hard. While walking off and making room for Anderson .Paak, he generates his patented noises with which he carpet-bombed the background of his hit song Panda. Listen to how many times he says “you feel me” in this interview.

shaking head

Anderson .Paak

Interesting wardrobe choices

Interesting wardrobe choices

As soon as he starts you know you’re in for a snoozer. If there’s one thing I can’t stand in a rapper, it’s a slow cadence. Especially when the rapper pauses for several seconds between lines. He talks about my mom for several lines then just links together a lot of lines (many that don’t rhyme) with seemingly random lyrics. Desiigner is in the background looking happier than any human I’ve ever seen. Maybe because he knows Anderson .Paak is somehow doing worse than him? I think it’s more of an attention-seeking behavior, and it’s not quite enough so he starts doing his patented noises towards the end of Anderson .Paak’s freestyle. Lil Dicky still hasn’t moved. Anderson .Paak says in one line that he changed the game in one year. I’m thinking the only way that can be true is if it’s analogous to the way Donald Trump is changing the presidential election game. Just vomiting words at millions who watch in awe and say “wow, now that’s a man I can get behind.”

Lil Dicky

He Got Game

He Got Game

Before he starts he asks Anderson .Paak if he really just said that he fucked a fleshlight during his freestyle. He did, and Lil Dicky says he’s all about the fleshlight game. Within literally six seconds after Lil Dicky starts, Desiigner stops dancing and becomes very serious. Anderson .Paak becomes stoic as well. I’m guessing this is from the absolute terror flowing through them as they realize Lil Dicky can actually rap his ass off, even though his lines are usually littered with jokes, and now they look atrocious. Lil Dick is good.


Video 2 – in order, includes Denzel Curry, Lil Uzi Vert, Lil Yachty, 21 Savage, and Kodak Black.

Denzel Curry

A Wild jersey, hell yeah

A Wild jersey, hell yeah

Denzel Curry could be worse (refer above to Anderson .Paak, Desiigner, or here). I might listen to him at some point.

Lil Uzi Vert

lil uzi vert

Uh, he says he has money. I think this is more of a fashion show than a freestyle for him. He has maybe 15 accessories on and one of them is a large red purse. He has a better flow than Anderson .Paak, but he basically just says the same stuff about money and women the whole time. He and Kodak Black seem to have themselves a nice little bromance cooking up. That’s what I like to see.

Lil Yachty

The freestyle this screenshot is from is hard to listen to

The freestyle this screenshot is from is hard to listen to

When you see/hear/experience this kid, you want to believe he’s messing with us. I want to like him, I really do. Especially after he made a song called Minnesota. When you watch this interview you can hear his brain tell us that it’s not a joke. Very sad, you hate to see it. He said he worked really hard to get here, then says he hasn’t even been rapping for a year. It’s been more like six months. It’s great to see a hard-working lifer, a real 9-to-5er if you will, make it in this cutthroat business. I will say that he seems to have tried to write a good verse for his freestyle. He tried is all the good I can say.

21 Savage

... so where'd you get your ink done?

… so where’d you get your ink done?

As soon as he started I thought of the song We Do It for Fun Part 1 by Tha Joker, which is a good thing. He raps like him for his whole verse, with Lil Yachty as his hypeman, but unfortunately, the lyrics are a massive letdown. I shouldn’t have let my hopes climb so high, but it’s not my fault that The Joker was pulled from the recesses of my mind. He has his styrofoam cups and seems to be having a grand time, but this is a very bad verse.

Kodak Black

kodak black

Kodak’s verse is like in high school when that kid who has one earbud in every single time you see him tries to rap for the first time in front of people. Everybody around him is relatively polite, but all the spectators communicate nonverbally to express how much ass this sucks. It’s just, it’s just really bad.


Video 3 – in order, includes Dave East and G Herbo.

Dave East

The lights were bright

The lights were bright

Can’t wait for Dave West in the 2017 Freshman Class. Ha, ha. This guy is a good rapper. FINALLY, we get to hear a good freestyle. I will listen to this guy now, thank you for exposing at least one talented person, XXL.

G Herbo

This guy looks a lot like this dude named Matt who I played basketball with, which means a lot to you, the reader

This guy looks a lot like this dude named Matt who I played basketball with, which means a lot to you, the reader.

This guy sounds a hell of a lot like Lil Herb from Chicago, which isn’t a great thing.


  1. Lil Dicky
  2. Dave East
  3. Denzel Curry
  4. The rest of these trash rappers.
  5. My boy Dwynell Roland better make the Freshman Class in 2017.

It’s more important to play a character than have any real lyrical or rhythmic talent in 2016. It’ll only get worse.


“Well, that about does her, wraps her all up… I guess that’s the way the whole darned human comedy keeps perpetuatin’ itself, down through the generations, westward the wagons, across the sands of time until we– aw, look at me, I’m ramblin’ again. Well, I hope you folks enjoyed yourselves. Catch ya later on down the trail.” – The Stranger

Until next time,

Blochowiak

One comment

  1. *Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don?t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

Leave a Reply

